Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

MLK ‘Dream Big’ Community Celebration held at Booker High

 Permanent link   All Posts

MLK Keep the Dream Alive

SARASOTA, Jan. 10, 2018 – As part of the 2018 Martin Luther King Jr. observance honoring the life and work of the civil rights leader, Booker High School will present “Dream Big: Civil Rights and Social Justice” from 6 to 8 p.m., Wednesday, Jan. 10, at the school’s Visual and Performing Arts Theatre. The event is free and open to the public.

The program, an evening of oratory, investigation, and the arts, is sponsored by the Booker High School Law Academy, Sarasota County Schools, the Sarasota County Bar Association Diversity Committee and the Association for the Study of African-American Life and History.

Included in the evening will be an interpretive dance performance by the Booker High School VPA Dance Department. Melissa Lodhi, Courtney Smith and their students have created a new piece for the event, interpreting themes of discrimination, acceptance and overcoming adversity.

Guest keynote speaker Brook Bello, an author, filmmaker and civil rights activist, will share her “Keeping the Dream Alive” remarks at the event.

To conclude the program, winners of the Sarasota County Schools MLK Essay Contest will be announced. The first prize is $1,000 ($500 to student, $500 to school); the second prize is $250; the third prize is $100. The overall winner will present his or her essay to the audience. Prizes for the essay contest were generously provided by the SCBA Diversity Committee and ASALH.

Booker High School and the VPA Theatre are located at 3201 North Orange Ave., Sarasota. 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing