Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Volunteer writing tutors needed at Gocio Elementary

 Permanent link   All Posts

Ashton volunteer and student Nov 2016

MAKING A DIFFERENCE: Volunteer tutor Sarah Kiger, at right, helps Ashton Elementary student Patrick Faucher with his reading and writing skills in November 2016. Volunteer writing tutors are needed now at Gocio Elementary School.

SARASOTA, Dec. 21, 2017 – Volunteer writing tutors are needed for a five-week writing program for fourth-graders that will be starting in January at Gocio Elementary School. No formal teaching or tutoring experience required; just an interest in helping students and a passion for language arts.

Two training sessions will be held the second week of January at the school, 3450 Gocio Road, Sarasota. Volunteers must attend both sessions to participate. The first training session is set for 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m., Wednesday, Jan. 10. The second session is scheduled for 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m., Friday, Jan. 12. Snacks will be provided.

Volunteers will be trained to guide students on the path to success on the Florida Standards Assessment in March 2018. The writing program focuses on encouraging students to use evidence to support claims in their writing, an invaluable skill that will serve them for years to come. Volunteers will work with two students for 30 minutes each, totaling one hour of tutoring per week.

For more information about the Gocio Elementary writing program or to register for the training sessions, please contact the Sarasota County Schools Volunteer and Partnership Office at 941-544-1661, or by e-mail at volunteerspartners@sarasotacountyschools.net.

 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing