Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Alta Vista Elementary to host 2nd annual Reading Street Dec. 12

 Permanent link   All Posts

Alta Vista Reading Street 2016

WORDS ON THE STREET: Circus Arts Conservatory clowns Karen Bell, with book, and Robin Eurich, join Clifford the Big Red Dog and other guests at the first Reading Street at Alta Vista Elementary in December 2016. This year's event is Dec. 12.

SARASOTA, Dec. 1, 2017 – Students at Alta Vista Elementary will open their favorite books for the school’s second annual sidewalk read-in, known as Reading Street. The event will take place Tuesday, Dec. 12, starting at 10 a.m.

The “streets,” with names like “Dr. Seuss Street” and “Roald Dahl Drive” (walkways around the campus temporarily named for famous children’s book authors) will be lined with students and staff, cozying up with a good book to read. Teachers, administrators, support staff and guests will come as their favorite storybook characters for this community-building event.

Children bring blankets and pillows to get comfortable sharing the love of reading with classmates and adults. Students from Pine View School who are Alta Vista’s “book buddies” in the “Up with Books” program, will participate as well. Family members of students are welcome to attend, as long as they bring a good book to read. 

“We want everyone to join in the fun,” said Assistant Principal Holly Heim. “It’s such a beautiful sight to see all of our teachers and students with a book in hand. Cultivating a love of reading in young children is so important — and Reading Street paves the way!”

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing