Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Bay Haven elementary students to log in for Hour of Code event

 Permanent link   All Posts

Bay Haven Hour of Code 2015

CRACKING THE CODE: Bay Haven students Charles Mills, at left, and McKinley Parisi participate in the Hour of Code in 2015.

SARASOTA, Nov. 27, 2017 – All 600 students in grades K-5 at Bay Haven School of Basics Plus will once again join the largest learning event in history, the “Hour of Code,” leading into the national observance of Computer Science Education Week, December 4-10.

Bay Haven parents, community members and business leaders are invited to attend the Hour of Code kickoff assembly at 2:30 p.m., Wednesday, Nov. 29, and get involved to help students participate in the “Hour of Code” all week, Nov. 30 through Dec. 6, with help from technology teacher Sarah Hu. Participating classes will be held throughout the school day, from 9:30 a.m.to 3:45 p.m.

“Computers are everywhere, changing every industry on the planet, but not enough schools teach computer science,” said Principal Chad Erickson. “Girls and minorities are underrepresented in computer science classes and in the technology industry. The good news is that we are helping to change this at Bay Haven!”

Last year, Bay Haven students wrote over 30,000 lines of computer programming code with the help of parent volunteers, New College of Florida faculty and students, and local IT professionals. This year the school is partnering with the Microsoft Store at University Town Center and New College of Florida to provide a broad perspective on the computing industry.

Bay Haven is at the forefront of this movement in Sarasota County, offering teacher training to help more schools participate this year. Nationwide, over 100 business partners have joined together to support computer science education, including Amazon, Disney, Microsoft, Apple and Google.  

Bay Haven School of Basics Plus is located at 2901 W. Tamiami Circle, Sarasota.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing