Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Free school meals end Friday, Oct. 20; costs resume Monday, Oct. 23

 Permanent link   All Posts

SCS News

SARASOTA, Oct. 9, 2017 - Since Sept. 18, the USDA and the Florida Department of Agriculture have made possible free school breakfasts and lunches for students in counties affected by Hurricane Irma, including Sarasota County. The free-meal program continues through Friday, Oct. 20. 

On Monday, Oct. 23, students will return to paid, free or reduced-cost status. The regular cost is $2.25 at elementary schools, $2.50 at middle schools and $2.75 to $3 at high schools. Reduced-cost meals for eligible students are 40 cents.

All students who were on a free or reduced-cost meal status in 2016-17 will no longer be on this status. Eligible parents should complete a confidential application for their child to receive free or reduced-cost school meals so that there is no lapse in service. Click here for the application or call the Sarasota County Schools Food and Nutrition Services Department at 941-486-2199 with any questions.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing