Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

ACE to offer half-price Family Saturday classes starting Oct. 7

 Permanent link   All Posts

SCS News

SARASOTA COUNTY, Oct. 3, 2017 — Adult & Community Enrichment (ACE) at Suncoast Technical College is launching Family Saturdays Oct. 7, featuring half-price admission to classes of special interest to families.

Sponsored by the Community Foundation of Sarasota County, the classes are designed to bring generations of family members together to learn something new and have fun in a creative environment. For a few hours on a Saturday, children ages 12 and higher can pair up with a significant adult in their lives and discover a new world of learning.

Family Saturdays are made possible by a generous grant from the Community Foundation of Sarasota County through the Allen Wirtz Nobbe and Jo Bowen Nobbe Fund. Thanks to this grant, the course fees have been reduced considerably making the class offerings more affordable to families.

“While there are plenty of opportunities for family activities in our community, many of the classes provide a chance for only the child to learn, leaving the adult family members as spectators,” said ACE Program Manager Laura Trubac. “Our new initiative involves both adults and children, giving them a chance to laugh, learn and grow together. We are grateful to the Community Foundation for making it possible for us to offer these classes at a reduced rate to our local families.”

On the next page is the list of classes designed especially for families. All classes will be held on Saturdays.

ACE Family Saturday classes
 

ACE plans to continue Family Saturdays into the winter term with a new selection of classes. To learn more about ACE Family Saturdays, visit www.ace-sarasota.com. Families can register for the classes online, at the ACE office at Suncoast Technical College at 4748 Beneva Road, Building 3, Sarasota, or by calling 941-361-6590.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing