Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

New principal named for Oak Park School

 Permanent link   All Posts

Jamie Lowicz 2017

Jamie Lowicz

SARASOTA, July 25, 2017 – Superintendent Todd Bowden has named a new principal for Oak Park School, which serves students with special needs from pre-K to age 22. Jamie Lowicz will be acting principal of the school for the 2017-18 school year. She succeeds Edwina Oliver, who has served as Oak Park principal since April 2013 and was recently named principal of Emma E. Booker Elementary School.

“This is an incredible opportunity,” said Lowicz. “My background in special education and my love of serving students with diverse needs has led me to Oak Park. I want to honor the wonderful work Edwina Oliver has done at the school and I hope to continue to build on the strengths of this very special community of students, parents and staff.”

Lowicz has been an assistant principal at Sarasota High School since 2013. In the 2012-13 school year she was a behavior specialist at Riverview High School. She taught in Charlotte County high schools from 2006 to 2012, was executive director of the Pacesetter Academy Foundation from 1999 to 2003 and was program coordinator for the Pacesetter Academy in Omaha Public Schools in 1998-99. She also has served as a school social worker with the Houston County Public Schools in Georgia and as the director of a Head Start center in Warner Robins, Ga.

Executive Director of High Schools Steve Cantees said, “Jamie has distinguished herself as a high-performing administrator. Her experience, collaborative leadership style, and the care and respect she has for students will be a great fit for Oak Park.”

Lowicz earned a bachelor’s degree in Social Work from Central Missouri State University in Warrensburg, Mo., and a master’s degree in Educational Leadership from National-Louis University in Tampa.

Oak Park School is located at 7285 Proctor Road, Sarasota. 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing