Sarasota County Schools News

Scholarship recipients honored at School Board meeting

 Permanent link   All Posts

Town Hall Scholars 5-16-17SDS-SBA Scholarship winners 5-16-17

SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS: TOP PHOTO-Town Hall winners: Front row, from left: Kim Nguyen, Pine View School; Angela Potier, Venice High; Bailey Jordan, Venice High; Aubrey Kilduff, Sarasota High; Joshua Mendieta, Suncoast Polytechnical High; Grace Gerdes, Booker High; Jessica O’Dell, Booker High; Eryn Lin, Pine View. Back row: Matthew Twargoski, Cardinal Mooney High; Timothy Mirnyi, Pine View; Brady Schwabach, Booker High. Not pictured: Bernard Chajkowski, St. Stephens Episcopal; Abigail Hostetler, Pine View; Nicholas Murphy, Out of Door Academy; Ian Sharff, St. Stephen’s; Livia Qoshe, Pine View. BOTTOM PHOTO-School District Administrators/School-Based Administrators scholarship winners: Alesandro Giannni, Riverview High; Randell Penaso, Suncoast Polytechnical High; Brandon Muniz and Brooke Fisher, North Port High; Patch Chen, Venice High; Sierra Pittman, Sarasota High. Not pictured: Odane Lennox and Melissa Roberts, Booker High; Jessica Koerner, North Port High; Jade Fischer and Neysa Rogers, Pine View School; Charles Arnold, Sarasota High; and Emma Gallagher, Bryana Mammana and Caroline Jones of Venice High.

SARASOTA, May 24, 2017 – Sixteen high school seniors were honored at the May 16 Sarasota County School Board meeting for receiving Town Hall Scholarships. Fifteen seniors were recognized for winning scholarships sponsored by the School District Administrators and School-Based Administrators organizations.

The Town Hall Scholars are high school seniors who attend the 2017 Ringling College Library Association Town Hall Lecture Series, held January 23 through March 22. More than 140 seniors from public and private schools in Sarasota and Manatee counties attended the lectures by former Vice President Dick Cheney, former Mexican President Felipe Calderon, actress and activist Geena Davis, photographer and climate-change chronicler James Balog and technology innovator Jared Cohen. Student tickets were provided by the Community Foundation of Sarasota County.

Students wrote about their experiences attending the Town Hall lectures this year in essays submitted with their academic and extracurricular information. The 16 winning essays were chosen from 101 received this year. The winning seniors each received a $2,000 college scholarship. Ten scholarships were funded by the Lou and Rosemary Oberndorf Town Hall Scholarship Fund and six were funded by the Dorothy B. Templeton Scholarship Fund. Both funds are administered by the Community Foundation of Sarasota County.

This year’s Town Hall Scholarship winners are Grace Gerdes, Jessica O’Dell and Brady Schwabach of Booker High; Matthew Twargoski of Cardinal Mooney High; Nicholas Murphy of Out of Door Academy; Abigail Hostelter, Eryn Lin, Timothy Mirnyi, Kim Nguyen and Livia Qoshe of Pine View School; Aubrey Kilduff of Sarasota High; Bernard Chajkowski and Ian Sharff of St. Stephen’s Episcopal School; Joshua Mendiata of Suncoast Polytechnical High; and Bailey Jordan and Angela Potier of Venice High.

The SDA/SBA organizations are made up of administrators throughout the Sarasota County School District who work together on fundraising events, including an annual golf tournament, to help fund the scholarships and support employee recognition programs.

This year the SDA/SBA team received applications, transcripts and essays from 53 high school seniors and awarded 15 $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors: Odane Lennox and Melissa Roberts of Booker High; Brooke Fisher, Jessica Koerner and Brandin Muniz of North Port High; Jade Fischer and Neysa Rogers of Pine View School; Alessandro Giannini of Riverview High; Charles Arnold and Sierra Pittman of Sarasota High; Randell Penaso of Suncoast Polytechnical High; and Patch Chen, Emma Gallagher, Bryana Mammana and Caroline Jones of Venice High.


Search News Articles

Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing