Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Sarasota High team to represent Florida at national FBLA conference

 Permanent link   All Posts

SCS News

SARASOTA, May 17, 2017 – Sarasota High School students attended the State Leadership Conference of the Future Business Leaders of America in Orlando with 4,900 other Florida FBLA students in March. They attended workshops and competed in business-related events such as business communication, business presentation, business procedures, business law and programming events.       

An SHS team of Jan Fic, Hailey Ballard and John Peachey placed second in the state in the computer game development competition. They will represent Florida at the FBLA National Leadership Conference June 29 in Anaheim, Calif.

The game the students created is called Crime Time. It is an animated computer game that requires players to complete five missions. The object is to have a robber collect as many coins as possible as they run through each level while being pursued by police. 

The students developed the game from September through December 2016.  They won first place in a district contest to qualify to compete at the state conference.

Teacher Jennifer Blasdel is requesting contributions to help defray expenses for students to attend the Anaheim competition. She can be reached at jennifer.blasdel@sarasotacountyschools.net.

Sarasota High School is located at 1000 S. School Ave., Sarasota.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing