Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Venice Elementary presents 1,500 books to Tuttle Elementary students

 Permanent link   All Posts

Up With books

BOOK BONANZA – Tuttle Elementary School second-graders Haley Urquiza-Varela and Landon Waters look over the bags of books delivered to their school by teachers and volunteers from Venice Elementary School. Teacher Bethany Burnett, in foreground, and parent volunteer Chandra Reilly helped with the collection and distribution of the books.

SARASOTA COUNTY, May 3, 2017 – Venice Elementary School partnered with Tuttle Elementary School in April for a district program called “Up With Books.”

During National Literacy Action Week in January, Venice Elementary held a book drive that collected more than 1,500 new and gently used books. The books were placed in bags that each contained three books, a personal note and a bookmark for each student at Tuttle Elementary School. More than 60 volunteer hours were dedicated to the project.

On April 5, Venice Elementary volunteers, teachers and Principal Erin Del Castillo delivered books to Tuttle Elementary School students. The partnership will close with fourth and fifth grade classes reading the same book and blogging with each other via classroom email regarding the book they read.

The “Up With Books” project was initiated by Laura Kingsley, The Sarasota County Schools Assistant Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer, in support of the Suncoast Campaign for Grade Level Reading.

Chandra Reilly, the Venice Elementary Volunteer of the Year, was instrumental in organizing the project. “What a great initiative to be involved with,” she said. “Delivering our finished book bags was the best part of the event! We love Tuttle Elementary students!”

 

Venice Elementary School is located at 150 E. Miami Ave. in Venice.
Tuttle Elementary School is located at 2863 Eighth Street in Sarasota.

 

 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing