Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Oak Park School thanks first responders at ‘Panther Prowl’

 Permanent link   All Posts

Oak park Panther Prowl 2016

PANTHER PRIDE: Oak Park School students Sarah Sylvester, left, and Lexi Alvarez, share a moment at the 2016 Panther Prowl. This year’s event will be held April 28.

SARASOTA, April 26, 2017 – The fourth annual Oak Park School Panther Prowl will be held from 10:30 a.m.-1 p.m., Friday, April 28 at the school, which provides educational support and therapy to students with disabilities from pre-K to age 22. Students can walk, run or use wheelchairs to participate in the Panther Prowl race, one of the highlights of the event.

This year Principal Edwina Oliver has invited first responders, medical personnel and other citizens who assisted the students and adults involved in the bus accident at Proctor and Gantt roads on April 11. The driver of a car took a left turn directly in front of the school bus, causing it to veer off the road and hit a pole. Oliver said she wants to thank publicly the many people who helped her students — many of whom are nonverbal — through a frightening situation and attended to the injured children and adults. Bus driver Danny Dunn and his wife, bus attendant Christine Dunn, also will be recognized for their quick action to keep students safe.

Oak Park’s music teacher, Shane Swezey, will serve as the disc jockey and spin some of the students’ favorite tunes. Ice cream, watermelon and other refreshments will be served. Tickets for a drawing are being sold to parents, school staff, volunteers and friends. Prizes include gift cards, gift baskets and experiences from local businesses. Last year’s Panther Prowl raised more than $16,500 for the school’s Parent-Teacher-Student Organization.

Oak Park School is located at 7285 Proctor Road in Sarasota.

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing