Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Health agencies offer tips for preventing spread of Zika virus

 Permanent link   All Posts

Zika Spill the Water graphic-NEW CROPPED

SPILL THE WATER, STOP THE SPREAD: A key element of the campaign to combat the Zika virus is to empty containers of standing water in yards, since mosquitoes can breed there.

SARASOTA COUNTY, Aug. 18, 2016 – The Florida Department of Health is working with the Governor’s Office and the Florida Department of Education to educate students, parents and school personnel on how to prevent the spread of the Zika virus and other mosquito-borne viruses. All public school districts in Florida, including Sarasota County Schools, are joining that effort.

At home, one of the most effective methods of preventing the spread of these viruses is to empty all containers of standing water around your yard. Mosquitoes can breed in small amounts of water.

For more information on precautionary measures and the latest information about Zika and other mosquito-borne viruses, click here for the Florida Department of Health in Sarasota County website. It includes a Zika hotline phone number. Click here for the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) website with Zika information.  

In addition, here are links to informational fliers about preventing the spread of Zika and other mosquito-borne viruses:

Mosquito Bite Prevention in Florida

Spill the Water Elementary Poster

Spill the Water Middle-High School Poster

 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing