Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Sarasota County Schools Cancels Activities Due to Severe Weather on Thursday

 Permanent link   All Posts

Weather notice 12-19-2018

December 19, 2018 – The National Weather Service has announced the potential for severe thunderstorms with a forecast of 2-3” of rain, possible hail and wind gusts up to 60mph. Showers and storms will begin to affect the area Wednesday night, with the main line of storms expected to move through the area on Thursday. Showers and cloudiness will linger through Friday.

In an abundance of caution, Sarasota County Schools has cancelled all after-school and extra-curricular activities and field trips planned for Thursday, December 20. Please note that after-care child care has not been cancelled. We are asking our school communities, staff and parents to be extra watchful during arrival and dismissal on campus tomorrow, as the forecast could change suddenly. The district will continue to monitor the weather and send out additional updates to our school communities as-needed.

#

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachjar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

TBA, Engineer

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing