Newsroom

Sarasota County Schools News

Oct. 10 Activities CANCELLED - SCS UPDATE: Hurricane Michael

 Permanent link   All Posts

Hurricane Michael

Noon - October 10, 2018 UPDATE:

Digital Town Hall originally scheduled for tonight at 7pm has also been cancelled.

------------

10:30am - October 10, 2018 UPDATE:

Due to the possibility of inclement weather this afternoon because of the hurricane, all after school events, activities, competitions and practices will be cancelled today except for elementary after-care which will continue as usual. 

The safety and well-being of our students is paramount to all we do, and we appreciate your partnership in keeping our students safe during stormy weather conditions such as Hurricane Michael. 

------------

4:30pm - October 8, 2018 UPDATE:

This is a message from Sarasota County Schools regarding Hurricane Michael. At this time, the storm is anticipated to have minimal impact in our area and schools throughout our district will continue to operate under normal hours on Tuesday, October 9 when the storm bands are expected to affect Sarasota County. Likewise, we anticipate after school activities will continue as planned.

As with any hurricane, the current path can change at any moment. We will update you as soon as possible should this plan change. Please be aware that the National Weather Service is predicting 1-3” of rain with wind gusts between 25-30 miles per hour tomorrow. In low-lying areas, a 1-2’ storm surge is anticipated as well. 

We care about the safety and well-being of our staff and students at all times. Please be sure to show patience on the road during the storm and be safe coming to and from school. 

Search News Articles


Communications and Community Relations
Tracey Beeker, Director
tracey.beeker@sarasotacountyschools.net

Kelsey Whealy, Media Relations Specialist
kelsey.whealy@sarasotacountyschools.net

Caroline Lee, Administrative Assistant;
Public Records Custodian, Peachar eflyers    
caroline.lee@sarasotacountyschools.net 

Digital Communications
Mina Ajrab, Manager
mina.ajrab@sarasotacountyschools.net

Torie Ewald, Social Media Strategist
torie.ewald@sarasotacountyschools.net

Katy Ellis, Social Media Producer
kathryn.ellis@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-4009 or
941-927-9000 ext. 74009
Fax: 941-927-2539
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Education Channel 20/33
John Flowerree, Manager
john.flowerree@sarasotacountyschools.net

Stephen Pannone, Engineer
stephen.pannone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-361-6355
Fax: 941-361-6358
4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

Community Involvement
Lyndsey Cantees, Coordinator  
lyndsey.cantees@sarasotacountyschools.net

Jennifer Anderson, Administrative Assistant
CommunityInvolvement@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31500
Fax: 941-361-6539
Green 1st Floor

Staff Listing