Alternative Education

Welcome to Alternative Schools

Alternative Schools is part of the Pupil Support Services Department of Sarasota County Schools. The department works together with schools and staff to provide support for Sarasota County students and families. Students may be referred to alternative schools after other interventions have been used, in order to remedy:

  • Habitual truancy
  • Habitual disruptive behavior
  • Behaviors that interfere with learning

A student may also be referred to an alternative school if the student has been recommended for expulsion from school.

Pupil Support Services
Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
Fax: 941-927-4052
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Exceptional Student Education
Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

Miriam Blosser, Administrative Assistant
miriam.blosser@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
Fax: 941-927-4014

Student Services
Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
Fax: 941-361-6157

School Health Services
Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
Fax: 941-927-4108

Florida Department of Health Sarasota County
Karen McCormack, Supervisor
karen.mccormack@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101

Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
Dr. Dawn Clayton, Supervisor
dawn.clayton@sarasotacountyschools.net

Karen Frantz, Administrative Assistant
karen.franz@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113

ESOL and Migrant Education
Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

FDLRS
Tracey Cardenas, Program Manager
tracey.cardenas@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32247

Tamika Herring-Snead, Administrative Assistant
tamika.herring-snead@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34330

Staff Listing

Tuesday
12/18/2018 - Civility Squad Make a Difference

Tuesday
12/18/2018 - McIntosh Middle Winter Band Concert

Tuesday
12/18/2018 - Woodland Middle Adv. Band Concert

Wednesday
12/19/2018 - Civility Squad Make a Difference

Tuesday
12/18/2018 - Venice Middle Winter Beginning Band Concert

Click for Monthly Calendars