Pupil Support Services

Safe and Drug Free Schools

Our Mission: To provide quality resources and services promoting a safe, drug free learning environment which enhances the highest student achievement.

The program's purpose is to provide substance abuse and violence prevention as well as character education resources to the parents, staff, and students of Sarasota County. The Office of Safe and Drug Free Schools is partially funded by the federal SMART grant—Sarasota Mobilizes for Alcohol Reduction in Teens. This is in collaboration with the Sarasota Coalition on Substance Abuse (SCOSA) and the goals of this grant project for a three-year period are the following:

1. Significantly reduce the percentage of targeted students who participate in binge drinking.
2. Significantly increase the percentage of targeted students who indicate a belief that alcohol abuse is harmful to their health.
3. Significantly increase the percentage of targeted students who disapprove of alcohol.
4. To enhance community awareness and participation in youth alcohol prevention strategies.

For more information on this grant project contact this office or SCOSA at 941-377-7736, or on the web at www.scosa.org  

Safe and Drug Free Schools Advisory Committee meets on the second Monday of each month (September-May) at 1:30 at the Landings. Interested community members are welcome. For more information, call 941-927-9000 X 34765.

Pupil Support Services
Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
Fax: 941-927-4052
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Exceptional Student Education
Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

Ana Montero, Administrative Assistant
ana.montero@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
Fax: 941-927-4014

Student Services
Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
Fax: 941-361-6157 

School Health Services 
Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
Fax: 941-927-4108

Florida Department of Health Sarasota County 
Linda Glover, Supervisor
linda.glover@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101 

Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
Bethany King, Supervisor
bethany.king@sarasotacountyschools.net

Patty Woods, Administrative Assistant
patty.woods@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113 

ESOL and Migrant Education
Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

State & Federal Projects
Jane Mahler, Supervisor
jane.mahler@sarasotacountyschools.net

Betsy Hooper, Administrative Assistant
betsy.hooper@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34061 

Staff Listing

Monday
1/23/2017 - Restorative Strategies Training for Middle School Counselors

Monday
1/23/2017 - IB Night - RHS

Tuesday
1/24/2017 - STEM Fair Judging Schedule (grades 3-5) at Robarts Arena

Tuesday
1/24/2017 - 2nd Annual Sarasota County STEM Fair Expo at Robarts Arena

Thursday
1/26/2017 - Sarasota Middle Showcase

Click for Monthly Calendars