Pupil Support Services

What is Title I?

Title I, Part A, is intended to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to obtain a high-quality education and reach proficiency on challenging state academic standards and assessments. As the largest federal program supporting elementary and secondary education, Title I targets these resources to the districts and schools where the needs are greatest.

School districts target the Title I funds they receive to public schools with the highest percentages of children from low-income families. Schools enrolling at least 40 percent of children from low-income families are eligible to use Title I funds for schoolwide programs designed to upgrade their entire educational programs to improve achievement for all students, particularly the lowest-achieving students.
Schoolwide programs must use instructional strategies based on scientifically based research and implement parental involvement activities

2017-2018 Schoolwide Title I Programs

Alta Vista Elementary School
Atwater Elementary School
Booker Middle School
Brentwood Elementary School
Cranberry Elementary School
Emma E. Booker Elementary School 

Fruitville Elementary School
Glenallen Elementary School
Gocio Elementary School
Lamarque Elementary School
Suncoast School for Innovative Studies Charter School 
Triad – YMCA 
Tuttle Elementary School
Wilkinson Elementary School

Pupil Support Services
Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
Fax: 941-927-4052
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Exceptional Student Education
Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

Miriam Blosser, Administrative Assistant
miriam.blosser@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
Fax: 941-927-4014

Student Services
Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
Fax: 941-361-6157 

School Health Services 
Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
Fax: 941-927-4108

Florida Department of Health Sarasota County 
Linda Glover, Supervisor
linda.glover@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101 

Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
Bethany King, Supervisor
bethany.king@sarasotacountyschools.net

Patty Woods, Administrative Assistant
patty.woods@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113 

ESOL and Migrant Education
Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

State & Federal Projects
Jane Mahler, Supervisor
jane.mahler@sarasotacountyschools.net

Betsy Hooper, Administrative Assistant
betsy.hooper@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34061 

Staff Listing

Thursday
8/24/2017 - Charter Review Committee

Thursday
8/24/2017 - Brookside Middle Open House

Thursday
8/24/2017 - Tatum Ridge Open House (Kg-2nd Grade)

Tuesday
8/29/2017 - Woodland Middle Open House

Tuesday
8/29/2017 - Bay Haven PTO Open House (K-2nd)

Click for Monthly Calendars