Pupil Support Services

ESE Occupational & Physical Therapy

As part of the Exceptional Student Education Department, the Occupational Therapy (OT) & Physical Therapy (PT) practitioners support the success and education of Sarasota County public school students.

What Is School Based Occupational and/or Physical Therapy?

  • OT/PT is a federally mandated related service, identified in the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). It is available to those students in an Exceptional Student Education (ESE) program.
  • Once student goals are established in the Individual Education Plan (IEP), the IEP team decides whether OT/PT support is required for student success.
  • OT/PT services could be provided anywhere in the school setting.
  • OT/PT services may occur by working directly with the student.
  • Other OT/PT services may be more indirect, or "on behalf of the student". These may include setting up strategies, modifications or accommodations within the student’s environment.
  • Consultation and/or collaboration with school staff and caregivers is another part of OT/PT school services.
  • Areas addressed by OT may include: use of classroom tools and manipulatives, cutting, handwriting, assistive technology, self-help skills, organization, social skills, independent living skills, and sensory issues affecting education.
  • Areas addressed by PT may include: independent living skills, safe mobility, access to equipment and supplies in educational environment.
  • The OT/PT staff is also involved in Response to Intervention, the newest initiative that provides interventions to students prior to ESE placement.

 

Pupil Support Services
Sonia Figaredo-Alberts, Executive Director
sonia.figaredo-alberts@sarasotacountyschools.net

Julie Zarling, Administrative Assistant
julie.zarling@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31109
Fax: 941-927-4052
1960 Landings Boulevard
Sarasota, Florida 34231
Green 3rd Floor

Exceptional Student Education
Tammy Cassels, Supervisor
tammy.cassels@sarasotacountyschools.net

Miriam Blosser, Administrative Assistant
miriam.blosser@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34226
Fax: 941-927-4014

Student Services
Debra Giacolone, Supervisor
debra.giacolone@sarasotacountyschools.net

Sally Dean, Administrative Assistant
sally.dean@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34754
Fax: 941-361-6157

School Health Services
Suzanne Dubose, Supervisor
suzanne.dubose@sarasotacountyschools.net

Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34765
Fax: 941-927-4108

Florida Department of Health Sarasota County
Karen McCormick, Supervisor
karen.mccormick@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32101

Alternative Education, Discipline & Dropout Prevention
Dawn Clayton, Supervisor
dawn.clayton@sarasotacountyschools.net

Karen Frantz, Administrative Assistant
karen.franz@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 31113

ESOL and Migrant Education
Jamie Rodriguez, Supervisor
jamie.rodriguez@sarasotacountyschools.net

FDLRS
Tracey Cardenas, Program Manager
tracey.cardenas@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 32247

Tamika Herring-Snead, Administrative Assistant
tamika.herring-snead@sarasotacountyschools.net
Phone: 941-927-9000, ext. 34330

Staff Listing

Wednesday
9/20/2017 - School Board and SCTA Bargaining

Thursday
9/21/2017 - CANCELED: Charter Review Committee

Thursday
9/21/2017 - Taylor Ranch Open House

Thursday
9/21/2017 - Glennallen Open House (Annual Title 1 Mtg)

Thursday
9/21/2017 - Cranberry-Open House (3rd-5th Grade)

Click for Monthly Calendars